Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

What is a chakra?

I like to think of the chakras as the anatomy of the energy body, that highly influential life force that we cannot necessarily see, but can always feel.

~ Bonnie Herman Zachary, Artist

Art Series of 7 Chakra Dancers by Artist, Bonnie Herman Zachary

Chakra Dancer Series

Originating from within the ancient yoga systems of India, chakras refer to the spinning vortices of energy created within us by the blending of consciousness and the physical body. Through this combination, chakras become centers of activity for the reception, assimilation, and transmission of life energies. Technically, the word is from the Sanskrit language and translates as wheel or disk. We can think of them as spheres of energy radiating from the central nerve of the spinal column.

There are seven major chakras within each of us, arranged vertically, from the base of the spine to the top of the head, centered through the middle of the body. They also correspond to glands in the endocrine system. Archetypally they represent the elemental forces of earth, water, fire, air, sound, thought and light. Numerous other correspondences have been attributed to the chakras, such as colors, sounds, deities, gemstones, herbs or planetary influences.

Chakras resemble a whirling vortex of light to the sensitive eye. With color and motion, Bonnie has attempted to portray that energy in the Seven Chakra Dancer series. Each design embodies the energy of all seven chakras, though each suggests an emphasis on one. Each print is hand embellished with metallic inks.

Understanding Chakras